wabi-sabi

sabina1

I like working with mostly recycled materials because they are usually free and they are economical. Since we have an almost endless supply of clothing that no one wears anymore, I figure I might as well make something out of it instead of buying new materials. Why do we need to create more of something we already have an abundance of? I also like recycling old clothes because they are more sentimental than new material. These old clothes connect us to our past and to our memories.

I love using material that is already some type of garment because it gives me somewhere to start from. I take the shapes of the clothes to inspire my creations, working with what is already there. I also use the zippers and buttons that I find on old clothes so I don’t have to buy new ones.

sabina3

One of my favorite materials to use are neckties. Neckties have been around since the 17​th​ century. They have played a huge role in our history, and have been with us for many significant events in time. It is easy to get access to all types of ties showing different slices in history, holidays and fabrics from around the world. Each tie has a story and there is a huge amount of them, each unique and worn. Each tie holds onto its memories. When you put them together to make a garment you weave all of their stories together. Every piece of clothing has a unique story even though the viewer may never know what it is about.

I enjoy the shape of the ties. I like to let the unique shape of the tie influence the design. They can be deconstructed for a lightweight fabric or kept together for more of a structured look. I start my piece by choosing a color, or a group of colors I want to work with. Since each tie is so different, color is an easy way to group them together. I have found that there are many different possibilities of designs. I have made skirts, shirts, dresses, vests, scarves and plan on making a full tuxedo one day.

Sabina Hayutin

sabina2

Leave a comment